Left Background
In the Spotlight

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

CPTC Students Hold First Awards Ceremony

The Associated Student Government at Clover Park Technical College hosted the first Student Awards Ceremony on the Lakewood Campus of CPTC in the McGavick Conference Center June 5.

The event recognized students and faculty for academic achievement and commitment to student success.

Nominations for the awards were submitted by students, staff and faculty. Winners were selected in various categories at the student, faculty and College Cabinet level.

Outstanding Student Organization:

Recipient: Engineering Club

Faculty of the Year:
This award is given to a faculty member for excellence in instruction and is nominated by students.
Recipient: Kelly Hacker, Faculty Human Services

Student Advocate of the Year:
This award is given to an administrator, staff or faculty member for their dedication to student concerns and work on behalf of students.
Recipient: Dr. John Walstrum, President, CPTC

Outstanding Student Leader:
This award is given to the student leader who has made outstanding contributions to their organization and has demonstrated excellence in areas of leadership, volunteered his/her services for the college community and is respected amongst fellow students.
Recipient: Travis Cohen-Lucy, Cosmetology Student, ASG Vice President of Student Council

Faculty-nominated award for academic excellence were given to one student in each division for outstanding scholarship.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Transportation
Recipient: Baron Johnston, Architectural Engineering Design Student

Health Sciences and Human Services
Recipient: Amber Taylor, Human Services Student 

Business, Hospitality, Education, and Trades
Recipient: Jeanna Rasmusson, Esthetics Student

Workforce and Economic Development
Recipient: David Jackson, Adult Basic Education Student


This award is for the student who has made outstanding contributions to their organization or the college community and has demonstrated excellence in the area of leadership and service.
Recipient: Kailene Sparrs, Environmental Sciences Student, ASG President


This award is for the student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship within their technical program or general education course. This award is selected by the Vice President of Instruction.

Recipient: Jada Block, Pharmacy Technician Student

This award is for all around excellence. Students who have demonstrated academic excellence as well as a high level of campus and/or community engagement and leadership are eligible. This award is selected by the college President.
Recipient: Anna Marie Grantham, Early Childhood Education, Student

Right Background